Love Letter To Ayurveda

Love Letter to Ayurveda

by Leigh Rowan, Executive Assistant at AyurYogaSpa

This morning, I woke up at the crack of dawn (not even…more like 4:15am!) to join Gina in her early morning routine. I have been a late night person all of my life, and I usually rise between 7 and 8am. So this was a BIG deal for me to be up before the sun. We attended a 6am Hot Yoga Vinyasa class at Balance Yoga, and I felt heavenly afterward, as I knew I would. But I also knew that I would crash at some point this afternoon from the lack of sleep. So, after learning from Gina for several years now about Ayurveda, I looked at my day and promised myself I would leave room for self care to ensure that I would make it through until bedtime.

As expected, I hit a massive wall around 2pm, and thought I was going to fall asleep, face first, onto my computer’s keyboard! Wow was I absolutely exhausted. With a little resistance from my hard-worker, over-achiever brain, I excused myself from my work for about twenty minutes to practice some Yoga Nidra (guided, deep relaxation). I have discovered a great app for it on my iPhone (the link for this app is at the end of this post) so I can practice anywhere, anytime…even in my car (parked of course!) It is said that fifteen minutes of Yoga Nidra is equivalent to a two hour nap, so what better time for it then when I desperately need a nap but have no time for one?

Twenty minutes later, I rose from my peaceful ‘slumber’, opened the curtains to let lots of light in (Ayurveda would call this Sight Therapy), and turned on some jammin’ Michael Franti music (Ayurveda would call this Sound Therapy). And Voila! I am impressively no longer tired and really do feel as if I took a two hour nap. And it only took me twenty minutes. This stuff is POWERFUL medicine, folks!

You see, 5 years ago, I would have felt that wave of tiredness hit me, and then I would have immediately been on a mission to hunt down some cups or cans of extreme caffeine. And then I would be wide awake (if just briefly) but also a jacked up, jittery mess. That is all I knew how to do, though. Now I am discovering different, even more potent tools to aid me in my daily life. Ayurveda (and Gina) are two of the most beautiful blessings I have ever received .<3

I will take the prescriptions of Ayurveda (fun music, yoga nidra, and sunshine, among thousands of others) ANY day over my old habits. The effectiveness of such seemingly simple techniques continues to amaze me….day after day :)

Want to continue the conversation about Ayurveda? Reply to me with your thoughts or questions in the comment section.

 iphone app that I use for Yoga Nidra can be found by clicking here

-Leigh 



About AyurYogaSpa's Blog by Gina

Yoga Instructor and Ayurveda Educator. Offering Wellness Consults, Workshops and Retreats on all Health and Life Issues everywhere.
This entry was posted in Ayurveda, AyurYogaSpa, Meditation, Yoga Nidra and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Love Letter To Ayurveda

  1. LEIGH! I so identify with what you said! For years I was such a night owl that going to be bed before 2:00 a.m. would have never occurred to me. Heck, even 6 months ago, I was thinking to myself, “I’m going to bed at 11:00 p.m. Must be getting old.” And I used to wonder why I was so sleepy in the afternoons! One thing that Ayurveda is really beginning to teach me is BALANCE. Not someone else’s balance. Not what a book says we should be like, or a doctor on a t.v. show, but me as an individual. It’s also teaching me to honor MY patterns, and the needs of my body, mind, and spirit. For instance, I love people, but I get overwhelmed when I’m around too many people for too long. I have to take a walk. Or have some quiet time after. I do get tired between 1 and 4 p.m. everyday. Now I know it’s time for Yoga Nidra, nap, or just resting with a book on the porch. Now I get up at 3:30 a.m. Not because I set an alarm. Because that’s when my body WANTS to wake up. I honor it, and have found that I am more creative and productive between 4 a.m. and 7 a.m. then I used to be ALL DAY! I hit the sheets with a book by 8:30 p.m. last night! Was asleep by 9:15. The phone started ringing; I ignored it, then turned it off. (Four months ago, I would have answered it regardless, and stayed up until the wee hours talking to someone in a different state or country, exhausting myself further!) As time goes on, and I come into balance through using Ayurveda and yoga, I find that I have a “new” set-point. The more I honor this new set-point, the more energy I have in every area of my life. And I wonder if I was so tired and sick before because I was honoring an OLD and unhealthy pattern, and fighting my body’s real inclinations. Ayurveda is a lifetime journey. It’s not like some diet you get on for six months and stop. Some days I forget to do things in my routine. Or I’m too tired. Or I want to do something different. Ayurveda gives me room to honor that, too. That’s why it’s so awesome and life-changing… it gives room for the WHOLE individual.

  2. Leigh says:

    Sheila your words are so true! One of the things I most cherish about Ayurveda as well is how it honors and encourages our own personal point of balance. It is the most loving (and, therefore, most healing) form of wellness I have ever practiced. Congratulations on this special, new journey of yours….we are cheering you on!

Leave a Comment

